Travel: India

IMG_0212

 

It’s been a long time since I made a post on here, but I’d really like to start using it more. I just got back from a week-long trip to India with my family, and I thought a post with some pictures and the thoughts behind them could be cool.

I love traveling. I love seeing how different other places are aesthetically, culturally, in the places they choose to piss, etc. It’s always amazing to me how abnormal another place’s norm is to me.

India is amazing to me for its density. The sheer number of people meant I always felt like I was missing photographs; there was always so much going on. In seven days, we saw four different cities: Delhi, Jaipur, Agra, and Varanasi, and the quickness of the travel and the amount of time we spent in cars just passing by meant I saw a million things going on. It made my head spin, and it was all so beautiful. I did my best to capture the hectic wonder of India with the time I had, but I know I could spend a long, long time there documenting.

Among the many street-photography-style photos I took, I also took some portraits with strobes with the assistance of my dad as light stand. I’ll briefly talk about their setups.

*Click any photo to see it full screen, in a separate tab

First, we went to Delhi:

IMG_9831-edit

IMG_9836

IMG_9865

IMG_9878

IMG_9921-edit

IMG_9931

Next, we were off to Jaipur:

IMG_0012

IMG_0014

I took a lit photo of this dog using a  Lumopro 160 into a Lumiquest III mini-softbox (my go-to setup for this trip when I used strobes) to camera left.

IMG_0032

IMG_0061

IMG_0065

IMG_0097-edit

Here, I shot my first portrait. We visited a place where a lot of block printed fabrics were made, and one of the men who was doing the printing had the most incredible face and hands, and I had to ask him. He couldn’t speak at all, but nodded when I motioned to my camera and pointed at him. I took some photos while he worked with a Lumopro 160 into a Lumiquest III mini-softbox, and then motioned to his face, and again he nodded. I posed how I wanted him to, pressing my hands around my face, and he mimicked. I took a few, holding the softbox overhead,  and was just amazed by how expressive his face was.

IMG_0148

IMG_0151-edit

Then, Agra:

IMG_0212

IMG_0220

IMG_0243

IMG_0259

IMG_0279

IMG_0281

And finally, Varanasi:

Same process for both of these portraits as before, as neither person could speak English. I just motioned, and they nodded back at me. For the first, I had the same a Lumopro 160 into a Lumiquest III mini-softbox to camera left.

IMG_0328

For the second, it was held to the right.

IMG_0333

IMG_0352-crop

IMG_0361-edit

IMG_0370

IMG_0412

IMG_0474

IMG_0490

IMG_0491

IMG_0509

Again, really a special experience. I hope my photos spoke well to the beautiful, chaotic, enchanting place that is India.

Leave a Reply

